About the Northern Illinois Homeless Coalition

Who we are.....


We are a coalition of dedicated volunteers, non-profit agencies, public entities, businesses and faith based organizations who believe that housing is a human right.

We work together to help households that are homeless receive the services they need while following a housing first philosophy.

Housing first means that whatever barriers face a homeless household, permanent housing is the first and most critical need.

Our coalition has helped more than 400 households move into permanent housing since 2015.

Want to become a member?  WE  are always looking for new members and would love for you to join.  Agency representatives and Community Members are welcome!   

Click here    for membership application.

Completed applications should be emailed to 

Current Board Members:


As of September 2020 the current board of the NIHC consists of:


Chair Kira Devin (Prairie State Legas Service), Vice Chair Sarah Parker-Scanlon (Shelter Care Ministries),  Treasurer Adam Smith (ICA), Secretary Heather Beaufils (Remedies), Todd Kisner (Winnebago County Health Dept), Kevin Smerko (Rosecrance), Mike Hedrick (Rockford Rescue Mission), Shelton Kay (Crusader Clinic), Angie Walker (Community Action),  Angela Wood-Zuzevich (TLS Veterans), Deb Alfredson (Winnebago County Housing Authority), Paula Lind (Rockford Township), Shelly Perkins (Dekalb Housing Authority), Joanne Rouse (City of Dekalb), and Leslie Wicks (Hope Haven).